Our renowned Research Interest Groups (RIG) - the Microwave Research Institute (MRI), the Wireless Communication Technology Research Group (WiCoT), the Antenna Research Centre (ARC), the Photonics Research Group (PRG), and the Applied Electromagnetic Research Group (AERG) - play a pivotal role in shaping our teaching methodologies. This direct integration of cutting-edge research findings into our curriculum benefits our students greatly, as they are exposed to the latest developments in their respective fields by our esteemed research teams.

To ensure that our research remains relevant and aligned with current trends, we actively collaborate with industries, local institutions, and international partners. These collaborations demonstrate our commitment to staying at the forefront of our research fields and addressing the evolving needs of the industry.


Our research activities are driven by the goal of solving real engineering problems through a combination of theoretical and practical approaches, employing appropriate scientific research methods. To provide continuous skill development and a comprehensive learning experience, our researchers are actively engaged in various fields of interest, including:

  1. Antenna and Propagation
  2. Space Science and Satellite Engineering
  3. High-Frequency Technology and Devices
  4. Radio Frequency (RF) for Bio-Medical Systems
  5. Electromagnetism, Microelectronics, and Opto-Electronics
  6. Filter Synthesis and RF Design
  7. Microwave Metrology and Measurement
  8. Wireless, Mobile, and Broadband Technology
  9. Telecommunications and Signal Processing

Additionally, the establishment of the Microwave Research Institute (MRI) as a center of excellence has further enhanced research activities among all members of the center. This center spearheads research and consultancy in high-frequency engineering, microwave technology, and wireless technology.


Global & Local Engagement

We actively engage in collaborations with renowned institutions and organizations through ongoing Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and Memorandum of Agreement (MOA). These partnerships include the International Center for Space Weather Science and Education (ICSWSE) at Kyushu University, Japan, Astronautic Technology (M) Sdn. Bhd. (ATSB), Telekom Research and Development Sdn. Bhd. (TMRND), ZTE University & ZTE (Malaysia) Corporation Sdn. Bhd., The Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM), and Kyushu Institute of Technology.

Contact Us

Assistant Vice Chancellor Office
College of Engineering
Level 20, Tower 2
Engineering Complex
Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah
Universiti Teknologi MARA

40450 UiTM Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan 


Tel: +60 3-5543 5052